Events

Professor Chen will be presenting her work at the following events:

CUNY Graduate Center Immigration Seminar

April 30, 2021

CUNY Graduate Center is planning to host Professor Chen for a virtual talk on citizenship in the Immigration Seminar Series at 3 PM ET/2 PM CST/1 PM MST/12 PM PST.

Registration here.

Law and Society Association Author-Meets-Reader

May 27-30, 2021

Professors Kathy Abrams, Linda Bosniak, and Sameer Ashar will provide commentary on Pursuing Citizenship at this online session.

More details forthcoming. Conference registration here.


Past Events

Launch at Boulder Bookstore

September 3, 2020

The Boulder Bookstore is hosting a virtual book launch for Professor Chen. She will be joined in conversation with Helen Thorpe, author of Finding Motherland and other books. The event begins at 7:00 PM EST/6:00 PM CST/5:00 PM MST/4:00 PM PST.

For more information and to purchase tickets for the event, click here. UPDATE: Excerpts here.

American Political Science Association Author-Meets-Reader Theme Panel

September 13, 2020

Professor Chen will be presenting her work on an author-meets-reader theme session at the APSA Annual Meeting in San Francisco, California. Other panelists include Rogers Smith, Rebecca Hamlin, Elizabeth Cohen, and Monica Varsanyi. The conference theme is “Democracy, Difference, and Destabilization.” Her virtual talk will occur at 10 AM EST/9 AM CST/8 AM MST/7 AM PST and is available to conference registrants.

For more information and to register for APSA, click here.

Boston College Law School

September 14, 2020

Boston College Law School Professor Dan Kanstroom and the Center for Human Rights and International Justice will host Professor Chen for a guest lecture on citizenship and naturalization at 11 AM EST/10 AM CST/9 AM MST/8 AM PST.

More details on the event and registration here. You will receive a zoom link upon registering.

Citizenship Day Panel

September 16, 2020

Professor Chen will speak on a panel hosted by U.S. Representative Joe Neguse for Colorado’s 2nd district in anticipation of citizenship day at 7:00 PM EST/6:00 PM CST/5:00 PM MST/4:00 PM PST over Zoom.

Contact Erika Blum for more details and to register for this event.

Colorado Law Talks

September 17, 2020

The Colorado Law Talks series and the Byron White Center will be hosting a talk with Professor Chen on citizenship and the Constitution at 7:30 PM EST/6:30 PM CST/5:30 PM MST/4:30 PM PST over Zoom. Free for CU affiliates.

Click here for more details and to register for this event. CLE credit available. Email for video recording.

University of Wisconsin Law

September 30, 2020

The University of Wisconsin Law School Ideas and Innovation Series will be hosting a book talk with Professor Chen at 1 PM EST/12 PM CST/11 AM MST/10 AM PST.

More details forthcoming. You may also contact Justine Suleski at suleski@wisc.edu for more information.

Symposium on Voting and Representation at NYU Law

October 8, 2020

The New York University School of Law and the Brennan Center for Justice will host a virtual talk on citizenship and political equality with Professor Chen at 12:15 PM EST/11:15 AM CST/10:15 AM MST/9:15 AM PST. This will be part of a panel discussion for a 2-day symposium that opens on October 1 with remarks from Stacey Abrams, Founder and Chair of Fair Fight. CLE credit available.

Symposium description and registration here. For more information, please contact Safeena Leila Mecklai, NYU Law Review Managing Editor or Madiba Dennie, Brennan Center for Justice. UPDATE: Video here.

Policy Discussion of Citizenship in Enforcement

October 14, 2020

The National Partnership of New Americans (NPNA) will host a panel discussion on citizenship policies with Ming Hsu Chen, Randy Capps from the Migration Policy Institute (MPI), Carl Berquist from the Coalition for Humane Immigrants Rights (CHRLA), Pablo Blank from CASA, and Ur Jaddou from DHS Watch and formerly USCIS Chief Counsel. The panel takes place at 3:00 PM EST/2:00 PM CST/1:00 PM MST/12 PM PST on Facebook Live. The event will be moderated by Nicole Melaku, the Executive Director for the NPNA.

Click here for more details and to join the event. For more additional information, please contact Diego Iniguez-Lopez. UPDATE: Video here.


Mini Law School

October 20, 2020

Colorado Law will be hosting their annual Mini Law School series with a focus on the 2020 election. Professors Chen and Violeta Chapin will speal on “Immigration Law: A Reform Agenda for the 2020 Election… and Beyond” as part of this eight week online series that will focus on voting rights, election law, and the impacts of the 2020 election on immigration, climate change and more. Lectures will be broadcast live from 6 to 7:30 PM (MT) and recordings will be available to view following the broadcast.

Click here for more details and to register for this event.

University of Colorado Denver

October 21, 2020

The Univeristy of Colorado Denver is hosting a virtual webinar on Immigration Policies Impacting Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders. The talk will occur at 2:30 PM EST/1:30 PM CST/12:30 PM MST/11:30 AM PST. The event is scheduled to run for 1 hour and 15 minutes.

Register here. For more information, contact Soyon Bueno Director of Asian American Student Services.

University of Denver

October 26, 2020

The Univeristy of Denver’s Sturm Collegeof Law is hosting an online event, titled Welcoming Strangers, Building Community – A Conversation about Hospitality and Citizenship. César Cuauhtémoc García Hernández will moderate the conversation between Professor Chen and Sarah Jackson, the founder and Executive Director of Casa de Paz. The event will occur at 6 PM EST/5 PM CST/4 PM MST/3 PM PST. The event is scheduled to run for 1 hour.

Register here.

Rutgers Law School

October 28, 2020

Rutgers Law School’s Center for Immigration Law, Policy and Justice will host a book talk with Professor Chen. Commentary will be provided by Professor Rose Cuison-Villazor and Professor Domingo Morel. The event will be held virtually at 4:30-6 EST/3:30-5 CST/2:30-4 MST/1:30-3 PST.

Register here. For more information, contact Rose Cuison Villazor.

University of California Los Angeles School of Law

November 6, 2020

The University of California Los Angeles School of Law (UCLA Law) will host Professor Chen for a faculty colloqium talk. Commentary will be provided by Jennifer Chacon, Ingrid Eagley, and Hiroshi Motomura. This virtual event will take place at 9:30 AM EST/10:30 AM CST/11:30 AM MST/12:30 PM PST.

For more information, please contact Wei-Joan Udden.

University of California Irvine School of Law

November 18, 2020

The University of California Irvine School of Law will host Professor Chen for an Intellectual Life Workshop at 3 PM EST/2 PM CST/1 PM MST/Noon PST. Commentary from Professors Stephen Lee and Kaaryn Gustafson.

Click here for more details.

TEDxMile High

December 5, 2021

Professor Chen will be one of the featured speakers at TedxMile High. Her talk “Finding yourself on the Citizenship Spectrum” is inspired by the book and includes personal narratives. For more information and the full schedule of speakers, click here.

Events details and talks posted here.

AALS Annual Meeting 2021

January 7, 2021

The AALS Annual Meeting Immigration Section will feature new scholarship on regulatory dysfunction in immigration law in a panel including Professor Chen, Heide Castenda, Stella Burch Elias, Paul Gowder, Lori Nessel at 1 PM EST/12 PM CST/11 AM MST/10 AM PST.

Must be registered for conference to attend. Click here for more details on the AALS programming.

Penn State Law Colloquium

January 28, 2021

Penn State Law will host a virtual talk on new research relating to the political representation of immigrants in voting and the census. The talk will take place at 1 PM EST/noon CST/11 AM MST/10 AM PST.

Immigration Initiative at Harvard University

February 3, 2021

Professor Roberto Gonzales and the Harvard Immigration Speaker Series will host a virtual talk on citizenship and naturalization with Professor Chen at 12 PM EST/11 AM CST/10 AM MST/9 AM PST.

Registration here.

Center for the Study of Law & Society Speaker Series

February 26, 2021

Professor Chen will present her book together with Ashley Rubin and Hadar Aviram in UC Berkeley Law’s Center for the Study of Law and Society Speaker Series. Catherine Albiston will moderate. This event will occur on Zoom and pre-registration is required.

3:30 PM EST/2:30 PM CST/1:30 PM MST/12:30 PM PST.

More details about the JSP Reunion event and Speaker Series is here.

Migrations Initiative at Cornell University

March 5, 2021

Cornell University is hosting Professor Chen in their Migrations Initiative Speaker Series at 12 noon ET/11 AM CST/10 AM MST/9 AM PST.

Descriptions of speakers and registration here. Video of event here.

CU on the Weekend

March 13, 2021

CU’s Office for Outreach will feature Professor Chen as part of their CU on the Weekend Lecture Series for Spring 2021 at 3 PM ET/2 PM CST/1 PM MST/12 PM PST.

Registration opens January 4 here.

American Sociological Association International Migration Book Slam

April 2, 2021

A group of books will be presented by the ASA International Migration Section. Contact Blanca Ramirez for more details and zoom link.

Ira C. Rothgerber Conference on Pursuing Citizenship

April 8-9, 2021

CU Law School’s Byron White Center wil present a two-day online conference highlighting the themes in Pursuing Citizenship in the Enforcement Era. Thursday evening (5-6:30pm) will feature MOTUS Theater’s Undocumonologues. Friday (9-5pm) will feature nationally known immigration scholars and practioners and action steps.

Registration and information will be here. Contact Melissa Schenter.

UPDATE: Video of opening remarks and keynote conversation with Hiroshi Motomura here.


<span>%d</span> bloggers like this: